Abbasi says Pakistan committed to South Asian regional bloc

Pakistan Forward

KATHMANDU -- Pakistani Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi Tuesday (March 6) said Pakistan is committed to the stalled South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC), Geo News reported.

Members of SAARC include Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, the Maldives, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. The last SAARC summit was held in 2014.

In a speech at the SAARC Secretariat in Kathmandu, Nepal, Abbasi said Pakistan considers SAARC to be very important and has always striven to make it a source for regional co-operation.

The SAARC has the potential to strengthen the economy of each country and to promote collaboration in various areas of mutual interest, he said, stressing the need for more links among SAARC member states.

As the host of the next SAARC summit, Pakistan will play a positive role in strengthening regional co-operation and will convene the meeting without delay, said Abbasi.

Do you like this article?

Pf icons no 0

Comments 0

* Denotes required field